Simple Beaded chain necklace

If you are interested in repurposing old jewelry and making new pieces, here is a good place to start. I found these pieces at a local thrift store that always has a great jewelry selection.

Here are the supplies that I used to make this necklace:

–> needle nosed pliers, flat nosed pliers, a flat surface to work on, lots of light and some compartments to hold the beads once removed from the chain.

To make a piece like this, you must use a closed piece of chain. I ended up using crimp beads to keep the beads in place on the chain. If you use an open chain, then not only will it be hard to string beads onto it, it would also be hard to find a way to keep the beads in place.

Simple Steps!

1. To start off, I took the clasp off of one end of the chain so that I could remove the spiral sphere beads. You can do this by using both your needle nose and flat nosed pliers to carefully separate the jump ring that connects the clasp to the chain. Put these pieces to the side in a safe place, you will be reattaching them once your beads are in place.

2. On this chain, the spiral beads were kept in place by crimp beads. If you look closely at the picture above, each spiral bead has two smaller gold beads next to it. These are the crimp beads. For these beads to work, you simply crimp down on the round bead (with pliers) to flatten two sides onto the chain. So, to remove them, simply take your flat nosed pliers on the opposite sides to reopen the crimp beads. Once reopened, these beads will slide off of the chain. I continued to do this until all of the spiral beads were removed.

3. After playing around with a few of these beads (they are flexible and can be opened up to take on a new shape – which you will see in the final pieces!), I sifted through my collection of natural looking beads (even some animal bones and beans that were made into beads) and chose the ones that I wanted to use in this piece. I also stole a few from this necklace that I’ve been wanting to rework for awhile. The rest of this necklace will be reworked into something new, very soon!

4. Then I started positioning the chosen beads onto the chain. Once I liked the layout, I used the crimp beads to hold them in place. As stated before, to use a crimp bead you simply put the bead in place and with the pliers squeeze the bead until it is stable on the chain.

5. Once all of the chosen beads were in place on the necklace, I reattached the jump ring and clasp to the chain. And there you have it! A brand new, one of a kind necklace. Since I also had a bracelet, I decided to use the same steps to make a matching set!

Brand spankin’ new, one of a kind necklace and bracelet set – made by you!

I hope you guys enjoy these pieces as much as I do and want to make something similar soon! More projects to come, I can’t wait to share!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

